Chicksa’s First Seder

That went well. So well, in fact, that I forgot to take any pictures at all. 

Karen brought brisket, Daddy brought mashed potatoes, and Allesy brought flour-less chocolate cake. I roasted a bunch of the vegetables from the CSA box with my usual method- golden beets, purple carrots, orange carrots, and a butternut squash; cut into bite sized chunks and tossed in olive oil, salt, and pepper, then bake at 400 degrees until they are fork tender. 

Red Moscato, almonds, and red delicious apples makes good haroset. 

Amorette brought me a whole chicken, which I crock-potted, which is the first recipe and link I will be saving for future reference. It’s super easy; pull all the gross bits out of the chicken (Honestly? I discarded them. I know some people use them, but I don’t care for the flavor of them unless they are used to enrich my Mama’s gravy, and I wasn’t making gravy). Coarsely chop several onions and separate they layers with your fingers. I used yellow ones; the pieces were about an inch and a half square. In the crock pot, drizzle the onions with olive oil and sprinkle heavily with seasonings of your choice. I used rosemary, parsley, dill weed, salt, and black pepper. Add minced garlic to your taste, so I used quite a bit. Toss it all together. Let the oil coat the sides of the crock pot also. Remove most of the onions, but leave a layer that completely covers the bottom of the crock pot. Put the chicken in the pot, open-end up. Stuff it with onions. Cram ‘em in there. Dump in about half a cup of soy sauce; some of it will leak out, that’s okay. Settle the chicken in the crock pot breast-side down, so the richness of the dark meat will drain down and help moisten the white meat. Crock pot on high for ~6 hours; time will vary depending on the crock pot. Do not add liquid; it will generate it’s own. I got started serving dinner late, so it was in there for more like 8 hours. It literally fell apart, it was so tender and moist. And it tasted amazing. I separated the meat into chunks with a fork, and put it in a serving dish with the juice and caramelized onions. If I had crocked it less long, I think I would have made gravy from the juice instead. Something to try next time. Note: I coagulates and looks gross when you refrigerate it, but it reheats nicely in the microwave.

I also had two successes coming up with desserts that are kosher for Passover. First, because the macaroons at the local grocery store were made with flour (WTF?) and they didn’t carry the canned kosher macaroons, I made macaroons with this recipe. They were good, but I think they needed more coconut vs egg whites; they ended up kind of flat, although they tasted great. I will experiment next time. Alternatively, I might try this recipe instead, the picture for which is more like the cookies I had in mind. 

Using some of those macaroons, I made a pie crust. I just pressed the still-warm macaroons into the pie plate. Then I followed this recipe. I will be making it again, I have to say. Fortunately, I happened to have kosher cornstarch, so I didn’t even have to go buy any. And I bought strawberries from one of the local trucks. Pick out the prettiest, reddest, sweetest looking berries and arrange them in you pie crust. You could totally use a graham cracker crust, or any other crust, but the the coconut macaroon crust was awesome. So, when you have your crust tightly packed with strawberries, pick out the ugliest ones and puree them until you have at least one cup of puree. In a small saucepan add the puree, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 tbsp cornstarch, and 1/3 cup water. Whisk to combine and heat over medium heat until it boils. Simmer for one minute, stirring constantly, then remove from heat. Stir it until there is no risk of it sticking and burning. Pour it over the berries, filling gaps and covering berries evenly. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Amazing.

We may do this again next year. :)

 

Leave a Reply

