Sarah’s Bean Treatment

So, I have this friend who has repeatedly taught me how to treat dried beans so they don’t give everyone terrible… um, stomach aches. And every time she teaches me, I forget how to do it. So this time, I am writing it down so Ic an find it for next time!

1. Raise water to a boil

2. Add dried beans

3. Return to boil.

4. Keep at a rolling boil for 10-15 minutes (this kills the sugar that gives you gas)

5. After boiling, allow to sit in water until the beans are soft.
This can take anywhere from 1 to three hours. I poking around on the internet, I discovered that the California Dry Bean Advisory board recommends the above method, with the addition of an overnight soak and a thorough rinse before cooking. 75-90% of the indigestible sugars that cause gas will dissolve into the water and be rinsed away.
Leave a Reply

